Board of Directors

What is a Solid Waste Management District?

A solid waste management district (SWMD) is local county’s authority for information about recycling, yard waste, and household hazardous waste (HHW) services. An SWMD tracks material that is recycled, processed, or sent for final disposal (placed in landfills or incinerated). It also conducts recycling and household hazardous waste collection events as well as community outreach and education activities.

In 1990, the Indiana General Assembly passed Public Law 10-1990.
This legislation made sweeping changes in existing state solid waste law, including creating the solid waste management districts. Each of Indiana’s 92 counties (except for Marion) was to have a district or be part of a multi-county one.

The Clay-Owen-Vigo Solid Waste Management District was
formed June 24, 1991. The district was among seven multi-county
solid waste management districts and 63 single districts in Indiana.
In 2014 Vigo County broke off and created its own Solid Waste District.

Money is collected from tipping fees from Sycamore Ridge Landfill. All funding for operations is through tipping fees. No taxpayer funding is used. Each year the district is required to submit collection reports to Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM). These reports can be accessed online at

The board of directors are created by state statue and are as follows

Our Leaders

Meetings are held the third Thursday of the month at 9:30am at 650 S 1st St, Terre Haute IN 47807.